UGC identifies 6 of the 21 fake universities in Delhi

fake universities in Delhi

After much speculation, the University Grants Commission (UGC) has come up with a list of fake universities. This list consists of 21 universities, set up across the country. These universities have been found to be working in violation of the UGC Act, 1956.

A total of six universities in Delhi are found to be fake. However, the maximum number of fake universities have been identified in Uttar Pradesh, nine universities have been found to be functioning in violation of the UGC Act. Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar and Karnataka have one fake university each.

In its official statement, UGC has stated that, “students and public at large are informed that such 21 self-styled and unrecognised institutions, functioning under the contravention of the UGC Act are declared as fake, and are not entitled to confer any degrees.”

The universities labelled as fake by UGC are listed below:

1. Commercial University Ltd., Daryaganj, Delhi

2. United Nations University, Delhi

3. Vocational University, Delhi

4. Indian Institute of Science and Engineering, New Delhi

5. ADR-Centric Juridical University, New Delhi

6. Kesarwani Vidyapith, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh

7. Raja Arabic University, Nagpur, Maharashtra

8. St. John’s University, Kishanattam, Kerala

9. Badaganvi Sarkar Open World University Education Society, Belagum, Karnataka

10. Maithili University, Darbanga, Bihar

11. Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata, West Bengal

12. D.D.B. Sanskrit University, Trichi, Tamil Nadu

13. Gurukul Vishwavidyalaya, Vrindavan, Uttar Pradesh

14. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University, Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh

15. Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Vrindavan, Uttar Pradesh

16. National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur, Uttar Paradesh

17. Mahila Gram Vishwavidyalaya, Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh

18. Gandi Hindi Vidyapith, Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh

19. Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Noida, Uttar Pradesh

20. Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Mathura, Uttar Pradesh

21. Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh, Uttar Pradesh

For any more information about the fake universities, students can visit the official site,